top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKristen

We begin to say goodbye

Before writing another post about the last few days of visiting more villages and travel and an unbelievable safari (which will follow in a subsequent post) I want to share the experience we had this afternoon with the staff team at our goodbyes. At an all staff meeting the team spent time sharing their thanks and their gratefulness for our visit and for the support of everyone at home making sure we shared their love with all of you. With eloquent words Rev. Ezra talked about the partnership we have. They showered us with parting gifts and gifts to take home to Karen and Gil and their grandchildren.


And through heavy tears I shared the following (paraphrased) words:


“First I have the unenviable task of following in Karen’s footsteps to lead Friends of Ruwenzori. It is impossible to fill those shoes but I will share this love with her who tells me often how she wishes she were here.


My father took our family to Kenya when I was 15. God placed East Africa in my soul on that trip. I wondered if it would feel the same traveling to Uganda and what I can share today is that my heart is overflowing with love for you all. As Americans we have been so blessed and we have so much and to come here and see the spirit and the love and the resiliency and the grace with which you all live overwhelms me. I get to take back 800+ photos but I have the task of sharing this spirit you all carry with friends and family at home. I plan to bring my family back so they too can feel this spirit of love and generosity. So I say, that you have given me so much more than I have shared with you and I ask that you pray for me as I partner with Karen in leading Friends of Ruwenzori by raising money to fulfill the dreams and vision that you all have. I breathe in Uganda and I will take that with me as I travel home.”


Afterwards we hugged so many, finding it hard to walk back up the hill for the last time. The young staff took selfies with us and we exchanged Facebook names and phone numbers to stay connected through What’sApp. It is at these times that I am thankful for technology that I can stay in touch with my new friends. I don’t know how to capture this journey adequately or how to share the thanks they have for all of you who donate to this work. They feel they can not put it into words. But I will take with me so many baskets, handmade by the women and young girls, and the photos and a heart full of the spirit of these people. I don’t know how it will feel to come back to our land of excesses and first world problems so I hope to keep this all alive in me for as long as possible. Until I return again.

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page