top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKristen

Greetings from Dubai

Updated: Aug 6, 2019

Less than 24 hours into the trip but I will take advantage of the last guaranteed internet time we have. After a couple short naps, despite not sleeping much the night prior, we arrive in Dubai. The flight is long but full of food and gives me a glorious chance to catch up on movies I never have time for at home. It makes my heart smile to watch J (who has never traveled out of the country) as he films the take-off and landing from his iPhone. I hope to experience this trip through the wonder of someone who hasn't had the gift of travel.

Stepping out of the airport into the stifling Dubai heat is one of the first reminders we aren't home. J comments that he hopes there isn't air conditioning where we are going because he doesn't like going in and out of it. Little does he know :) After a couple of missteps getting to our shuttle we arrive at the hotel, grab some dinner, walk a couple blocks to a little grocery store I remember from before, decide against the midnight tour of the city (hoping to catch that on the way back through), make a Skype call and then shower and settle in to try to sleep.


As I drift off I think about the stark difference between Dubai and Entebbe. Dubai is a city in the 3rd richest country in the world. The advertisements in the airport are all high end brands and the architecture is something almost futuristic. The airport has prayer rooms and our passports are checked by men in white headwear and long white dresses. I love listening to people in line as the cacophony of languages fills my ears- traveling families, a newlywed couple with matching "hubby and wifie" t-shirts, styles of clothing from around the world. Tomorrow we land in Entebbe, an airport that is dwarfed by the enormous planes that land there and into one of the least developed countries in the world. After passing through the customs and visa check we will exchange some dollars for shillings and swiftly get on a hotel shuttle and drive through the streets to Kampala passing sights and experiences sounds and smells that are East Africa. I find myself thankful again to be able to do this for my job and again to share this experience with so many of you who generously give your time, treasures and talents to Friends of Ruwenzori in support of our dear friends at KIDA. Hopefully will connect at the Speke Hotel in Kampala but as my alarm is going off in 4 1/2 hours I will sign off for now. Good night.

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page